Kankyō Ongaku

Various ‎Artists -  環境音楽  Kankyō Ongaku [LITA 167 2019 FLAC]

Subtitled Japanese Ambient, Environmental & New Age Music 1980 - 1990

From the label's website....

This is an unprecedented overview of the country’s vital minimal, ambient, avant-garde, and New Age music – what can collectively be described as kankyō ongaku, or environmental music. The collection features internationally acclaimed artists such as Haruomi Hosono, Ryuichi Sakamoto and Joe Hisaishi, as well as other pioneers like Hiroshi Yoshimura, Yoshio Ojima and Satoshi Ashikawa, who deserve a place alongside the indisputable giants of these genres.

In the 1970s, the concepts of Brian Eno’s “ambient” and Erik Satie’s “furniture music” began to take hold in the minds of artists and musicians around Tokyo. Emerging fields like soundscape design and architectural acoustics opened up new ways in which sound and music could be consumed. For artists like Yoshimura, Ojima and Ashikawa, these ideas became the foundation for their musical works, which were heard not only on records and in live performances, but also within public and private spaces where they intermingled with the sounds and environments of everyday life. The bubble economy of 1980s Japan also had a hand in the advancement of kankyō ongaku. In an attempt to cultivate an image of sophisticated lifestyle, corporations with expendable income bankrolled various art and music initiatives, which opened up new and unorthodox ways in which artists could integrate their avant-garde musical forms into everyday life: in-store music for Muji, promo LP for a Sanyo AC unit, a Seiko watch advert, among others that can be heard in this collection.

Kankyō Ongaku is compiled by Spencer Doran (Visible Cloaks) who, with a series of revelatory mixtapes as well as his label Empire of Signs (Music For Nine Postcards), has been instrumental in shepherding interest in this music outside of Japan. Together with Light In The Attic’s celebrated anthologies I Am The Center and The Microcosm, Kankyō Ongaku helps to broaden our understanding of this quietly profound music, regardless of the environment in which it’s heard.

Disc One
01 Satoshi Ashikawa - Still Space
02 Yoshio Ojima - Glass Chattering
03 Hideki Matsutake - Nemureru Yoru (Karaoke Version)
04 Joe Hisaishi - Islander
05 Yoshiaki Ochi - Ear Dreamin'
06 Masashi Kitamura + Phonogenix - Variation III
07 Interior - Park
08 Yoichiro Yoshikawa - Nube
09 Yoshio Suzuki - Meet Me In The Sheep Meadow
10 Toshi Tsuchitori - Ishiura (Abridged)
11 Shiho Yabuki - Tomoshibi (Abridged)
12 Toshifumi Hinata - Chaconne

Disc Two
01 Yasuaki Shimizu - Seiko 3
02 Inoyama Land  - Apple Star
03 Hiroshi Yoshimura - Blink
04 Fumio Miyashita - See The Light (Abridged)
05 Akira Ito - Praying For Mother / Earth Part 1
06 Jun Fukamachi - Breathing New Life
07 Takashi Toyoda - Snow
08 Yellow Magic Orchestra - Loom
09 Takashi Kokubo - A Dream Sails Out To Sea - Scene 3
10 Masahiro Sugaya - Umi No Sunatsubu
11 Haruomi Hosono - Original BGM


  1. https://www.mediafire.com/file/svuyxc9123jyx2w/va_kankyo_ongaku.rar/file

  2. Does exactly what a good comp should do: opens up a whole new world of sound for the listener / me. Thanks for this!


Post a Comment

Thanks for visiting and listening, your comment will appear shortly after moderation